William Kent Krueger
William Kent Krueger


Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out for radical activities. After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota. He currently makes his living as a full-time author. He’s been married for over 40 years to a marvelous woman who is a retired attorney. He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves.

Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota. His protagonist is Cork O’Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage—part Irish and part Ojibwe. His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize. His last nine novels were all New York Times bestsellers.

Ordinary Grace, his stand-alone novel published in 2013, received the Edgar Award, given by the Mystery Writers of America in recognition for the best novel published in that year. The companion novel, This Tender Land, is scheduled for publication in September 2019.


Bush Artist Fellowship, 1988
Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, 1998
Minnesota Book Award, 1999
Anthony Award for Best First Novel, 1999
Barry Award for Best First Novel, 1999
Friends of American Writers Prize, 1999
Minnesota Book Award, 2002
Readers Choice Award, 2003
Anthony Award for Best Novel, 2005
Anthony Award for Best Novel, 2006
Minnesota Book Award, 2007
Dilys Award (Independent Mystery Booksellers Association), 2008
Lovey Award (Love is Murder Conference), Best PI/Police Procedural category, 2008
Minnesota Book Award, 2008
Northeastern Minnesota Book Award (NEMBA), 2008
Midwest Booksellers Choice Award for Best Fiction, 2013
Dilys Award (Independent Mystery Booksellers Association), 2014
Squid Award (Left Coast Crime), 2014
Edgar Award, 2014
Minnesota Book Award, 2014
Northeastern Minnesota Book Award, 2014
Anthony Award for Best Novel, 2014
Barry Award for Best Novel, 2014
Macavity Award for Best Novel, 2014
Lefty (Left Coast Crime) Award for Best Novel, 2018